Reviews

- The world’s first and only “Customizable" phono cartridge -

Reviews and Awards:

 


USA-EnglishUSA-EnglishVPI Industries Inc. HW Review #4,(January, 2018) by Harry WeisfeldVPI Industries inc., Harry Weisfeld, January 2018VPI Industries inc., Harry Weisfeld, January 2018

 

Following the recent Prime Scout turntable review in Stereophile's October issue (see below), which turned out very positive using our S-AlLi103-PO aluminum-lithium cartridge-shell kit. We've then invited VPI to try it. Not long after the VPI Prime Scout turntable was awarded Stereophile's 2017 "Product of the year" turntable. Needless to say, the Audio MusiKraft cartridge was as Super Winning Combo with it during the review. For the VPI's evaluation,  the cartridge was equipped with Ipé and Tiete Rosewood oil treated inserts. Tests were done on many of their turntables. The Audio MusiKraft:
HW Review #4 - MusiKraft DL-103

 

« For less than $800.00 I have been mesmerized by the pure musicality of this cartridge.  It has the ability to reproduce bass in a manner of real music in a live room, no sterility, no detail over hall sound, just a perfect balance of everything that makes you want to play records.  It is very well made, beautifully executed, looks like a $6000 cartridge, and sounds very close to one in many ways. »

« Let’s put it this way, the MusiKraft/Denon is in the system I listen to all the time for enjoyment and it is staying there.Very highly recommended and especially for the price, a real musical bargain. »


 

USA-EnglishUSA-EnglishPositive Feedback Creative Forum, Issue 95  (January, 2018) by Jeff DayPositive Feedback Creative Forum, January 2018Positive Feedback Creative Forum, January 2018

 

After the exciting adventure through his Blog posts, Jeff presents us the official review of the "Tunable" Audio MusiKraft S-Al103-CLAN aluminum cartridge-shell kit. We've sent out to Jeff some Maple, Lime, Black walnut and Jatoba wood sets and our special blend of eco-friendly oil. We encourage you not to miss reading the results of many weeks of his rigorous work testing all the tunability facets. There is a lot to learn about our cartridge.
The "Tunable" Audio MusiKraft Denon DL-103 Phonograph Cartridge

 

« Even without utilizing its tunability features, the Audio MusiKraft cartridge shell provides a rather dramatic improvement in performance both musically & sonically to the Denon DL-103, and it should be on the short list for everyone who owns one. »

 « I actually have zero criticisms of the Audio MusiKraft Denon DL-103 phonograph cartridge. Its design is a brilliant approach to maximizing the cartridge's musical & sonic performance for a given listeners system balance and personal preferences, it is built to an impressive level of quality, it is remarkably affordable, and it has been completely reliable in use. »


 

Poland-PolishPoland-Polish

 High Fidelity.pl on-line Magazine, (November, 2017), by Wojtek PaculaHigh Fidelity.pl, November 2017High Fidelity.pl, November 2017

 

Another Superb Review for us! This time from Poland. Mr. Pacula evaluated one of our most affordable Audio MusiKraft DL-103 cartridge shell S-Al-CHAN (US $249). The reviewer has often written articles about the much loved Denon DL-103. In this article, he compares from the original DL-103 (one of his)  cart to once modded with the Audio MusiKraft upgrade. Here are excerpts of his writing about our entry-level shell:

No 163, English, Polish

 

« The sound with this modification was spectacular. Warm, dense and rhythmic. That's what I love the "103" for. »

 « And so on, and so on - from tone, through imaging, to dynamics, everything is better, more natural. »

« The Denon DL-103 featuring MusiKraft's shell is like a small dynamo, electrifying played records. »

«The improvement introduced by the MusiKraft shell is very big, it's like achieving a much higher sound quality level with a single move. »

What could one more want in a cartridge?!


 

USA-EnglishUSA-EnglishStereophile magazine, Special Issue Vol.40 No.10 (October, 2017), by Stereophile staffStereophile magazine, October 2017Stereophile magazine, October 2017

 

Recommended Component Cartridge: graded "B" / $$$
Audio MusiKraft Denon DL-103 shells:  from $229 and up
 

When considering there are thousands of cartridges out there on the market, we are more than pleased to mention our cartridge stands out in a bunch.

«  AD borrowed a MusiKraft polished lithium-aluminum shell (model S-AlLi103-PO) with side panels of South American ipe wood and a pre-installed Denon DL-103—a total retail value of $739—and was impressed all to hell and back: the MusiKraft version lacked "the slight treble glare" associated with his stock DL-103, and provided "pitches and pitch relationships [that] were steadily, solidly right," and "vocal textures and tones with real meat and color." His verdict: "a fine value." (Vol.40 No.8 WWW) »

Read more here (middle of the page)


 

USA-EnglishUSA-English

Stereophile magazine, Special Issue Vol.40 No.10 (October, 2017), by Art DudleyStereophile magazine, October 2017Stereophile magazine, October 2017

 

Our Audio MusiKraft S-AlLi103-PO aluminum-lithium cartridge came out as a solid good match with the new VPI Prime Scout turntable where Art Dudley heavily relied on for his review.

VPI Prime Scout turntable

« Even more impressive were the believable weight and resonance of the kettledrums, the forceful and well-textured thrum of the massed strings, the perfect tones of all woodwind instruments—piccolos and flutes sounded as hard as they should, but no harder—and the fine sense of musical drive overall. »

« ...the Prime Scout plus modified Denon cartridge played the music with unerring momentum and complete emotional immersion: It would have been impossible not to listen to both sides, straight through. »


 

USA-EnglishUSA-EnglishStereophile magazine Vol.40 No.8  (August, 2017) by Art DudleyStereophile magazine, August 2017Stereophile magazine, August 2017

 

We are proud to announce our very first review, which is very positive. In this issue, Art evaluates the Audio MusiKraft S-AlLi103-PO aluminum-lithium cartridge-shell kit equipped with oiled Ipe wood inserts. We quote his conclusion:

Listening #176

 

« I found myself having such a good time with the MusiKraft Denon...»

«All in all, I was very impressed with the MusiKraft S-AlLi103-PO body, for the comprehensiveness of its design, the quality of its execution - simply feeling the sturdily precise and very smooth fit between its threaded holes and mounting bolts gave me a nerdy thrill - and the sureness of its sonic and musical accomplishments.»

«...is very strongly recommended. »


 

USA-EnglishUSA-EnglishJeff's Place Blog, by Jeff DayJeff's PlaceJeff's Place

 

The Audio MusiKraft 'tuneable' Denon DL-103 phono cartridge

Over the next few months, Jeff will be conducting thorough evaluations of the Audio MusiKraft aluminum cartridge-shell kit S-Al103-CLAN. We've added four (4) different wood sets and an oil mixture of our own for him to test. His work will be summarized in a Positive Feedback article this winter. In the meantime, you can read his blog writings under:

Part 1 to 21 (June to December, 2017)

 

« By far, I think the most sophisticated and interesting of the aftermarket high-performance replacement bodies, are those offered by Audio MusiKraft in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu, Quebec, Canada. »

«...astonishingly affordable price of $579, making it one of the highest value audio products that I have ever written about, from a cost-to-performance standpoint.»

- Take Control of Your Sound -

Share on Social Media